Seven S. Korean Buddhist Temples Added to UNESCO World Heritage ListVideo

Write : 2018-07-01 12:00:08 Update : 2018-07-03 10:13:36

Seven Buddhist mountain temples in South Korea have been added to the UNESCO World Heritage list.

The World Heritage Committee on Saturday announced the unanimous decision during its 42nd session in Manama, Bahrain, recognizing the temples as a universal cultural heritage.

The seven temples belong to the Jogye Order of Korean Buddhism. They the temples of Seonam and Daeheung, located in South Jeolla Province; Beopju and Magok in the central Chungcheong region; and Tongdo, Buseok and Bongjeong in southern Gyeongsang Province.

The International Council on Monuments and Sites, a non-governmental advisory group that provides pre-assessment prior to UNESCO's call, recommended four of the seven temples – Beopju, Tongdo, Buseok and Daeheung, citing lack of historical significance and small sizes.

But South Korea reportedly succeeded in adding all seven to the list with active negotiations and promotion to secure votes from all member countries at the last minute.

[Photo : YONHAP News]

  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • print
  • list
  • Top
prev  prev  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next
Internet Radio On-Air Window to KBS WORLD Radio Window to KOREA
2018 Inter-Korean Summit
North Korea Inside
청취자 만족도 조사 결과 -E
Let's Learn Korean (Mobile)
More Service
KBS World Radio On-Air
  • KBS World Radio On-Air
  • On-Air app is specifically designed for quick and easy access to audio services for KBS World Radio programs in 11 languages.


2 / 4