5-Nation MIKTA Condemns N. Korean Provocations

Write : 2016-11-26 14:51:17 Update : 2016-11-26 14:53:47

5-Nation MIKTA Condemns N. Korean Provocations

A group of five middle powers including South Korea, known as MIKTA, has denounced North Korea's nuclear tests and ballistic missile launches.

Seoul's Foreign Ministry said the five nations including Mexico, Indonesia, Turkey and Australia held their eighth foreign ministerial meeting in Sydney on Friday and adopted a joint communique condemning the North.

In the statement, the top diplomats of the five nations said they "continue to express grave concerns over the increasing frequency of North Korea's provocations this year."

They said the provocations "diminish resources for addressing the humanitarian needs of the North Korean people." 

Urging the North to "immediately" and "fully" comply with all of its international obligations, the statement stressed Pyongyang's violations of commitments undermine the "rules-based" global order under the UN Charter that MIKTA works hard to uphold.

The group of five named after the countries' initials shares core values on the principles of democracy and market economy.

  • RSS
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • print
  • list
  • Top
prev  prev  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next
Internet Radio On-Air Window to KBS WORLD Radio Window to KOREA
2018 Inter-Korean Summit
North Korea Inside
청취자 만족도 조사 결과 -E
Let's Learn Korean (Mobile)
More Service
KBS World Radio Mobile
  • KBS World Radio Mobile
  • The new app consolidates KBS World Radio’s news and feature contents with services previously provided through separate apps...


1 / 4